Rain World getting 'Downpour' DLC

When it rains, it pours

11 June 2022
by rawmeatcowboy 1

Fans of Rain World will be very happy to know that there’s more fun on the way. A new ‘Downpour’ expansion is heading to the game, and it should be out sometime later this year.

The Rain World: Downpour is a DLC expansion of Rain World where you’ll take control of five new characters with new abilities. Slugcats have adapted to the harsh conditions alongside evolved predators, but you’ll still have to tackle new environmental conditions and explore uncharted territory.

For more details on the Downpour DLC, check out the press release below.

Return to the unwavering wild in Downpour, where you explore new, harsh lands and survive new predators. As time passed, the slugcat has evolved. With five variants of the species – take advantage of various skills that they possess and explore their own personal tales.

The expansion includes optional additional mechanical additions that allows for a spin on the Rain World experience – tutorialized hints, alternate routing options, a new map system, handy collectibles tracker for storyline completion, and many more.

  • Breaking New Ground to Explore – With ten expansive regions across thousands of new maps, environments, and weather to survive and discover
  • Five Additional Characters – All with unique abilities, skillsets, gameplay style, and stories
  • Challenge Mode – Put your survivability to the test in multiple pre-constructed arena scenarios, adapting to each room as the difficulty increases
  • Safari Mode – Observe an ecosystem unfold! Revisit areas once explored safely through the eyes of an observer – control and play as other creatures in the game to influence the scene.

Add Comment

Comments (1)


2y ago

I never bought this game, I keep meaning to, but it would only end up on the huge backlog pile. I do like the look of it and I remember, RMC, when you did a hands-on going back a few years now. Nice to see there's life left yet in the old Slugcat, in the form of DLC.