Back in early October, Square Enix shared a wave of new details on Theatrhythm: Final Bar Line. Following that, Square Enix has shared another round of information today. While some of this is a rehash of what we saw earlier this month, we do get some new details on the game’s ‘Series Quests’ mode, characters and party formation. You can read through the full blog below.

■ The Basics: Features

With 385 in-game songs, this installment has the highest volume of tracks in the history of the series! The total jumps to 502 when including the DX version and add-ons!

  • Songs Included In-Game: 385 songs
  • DX Version Exclusive: 27 songs
  • Downloadable Content Add-Ons: 90 songs
  • Total Songs: 502 songs
  • Includes 167 New Songs
  • *Compared to Theatrhythm Final Fantasy: Curtain Cal, 3DS, released in 2014.

Examples of newly added music:

  • “Through the Maelstrom” (Final Fantasy XIV)
  • “Heroes” (Final Fantasy XIV)
  • “APOCALYPSIS NOCTIS (Uncovered Trailer)” (Final Fantasy XV)
  • “Valse di Fantastica” (Final Fantasy XV)
  • “One-Winged Angel – Rebirth” (Final Fantasy VII Remake)
  • “Tifa’s Theme – Seventh Heaven” (Final Fantasy VII Remake)

Add-on content includes various tracks from popular Square Enix titles, and 104 characters appear from throughout the Final Fantasy series.

■ The Basics: Gameplay

When the Triggers on screen overlap with a Trigger Mark, make your move!

The red, yellow, and green circles are called “Triggers.” When they overlap with the white circles to the right of the screen called “Trigger Marks,” make a well-timed move with a button or stick!

Simple controls make for intuitive gameplay that anyone can pick up.

—Difficulty Options

There are three difficulty levels to choose from for each piece of music: Basic / Expert / Ultimate. In addition, about one-third of the songs offer the highest difficulty level, “Supreme”!

—Additional Information

  • Touch Trigger: Press a button.
  • Slide Trigger: Move the stick in the direction of the arrow. Use two sticks for two arrows.
  • Hold Trigger: Hold a button for the duration of the trigger and let go at the end.
  • Hold-Slide Trigger: Hold a button for the duration of the trigger, and move the stick in the direction of the arrow at the end.

■ The Basics: Game Modes

—Battle Music Stage

Defeat waves of enemies in time with up-tempo battle music!

—Field Music Stage

Journey forth with your party to relaxing field music!

—Event Music Stage

Play to the beat against a backdrop of unforgettable scenes from each title!

Series Quests

—Choose from your favorite titles!

Relive a total of 29 past titles and unlock their songs as you go.

—Acquire characters!

Characters associated with each title will join your team.

—Advance through the map by clearing each stage!

Each song also has its own quest, such as “Defeat 10 ‘Bomb’ enemies,” and songs cleared in this mode are unlocked to play in Music Stages.

■ Characters and Party Formation

Form a party with your favorite characters! You can have up to four characters of your choosing in your party.

Abilities / Summons

You can set up to three abilities for each character. There are various types of abilities, including attack and healing, as well as character-specific abilities.

Call forth summons in a Battle Music Stage by setting a summonstone. Summonstones come with random bonus effects. Try to get your favorite summons with better and better effects!

Additional Information

In addition to characters and summons, you can also change moogle styles and airships. Neither affects your stats or gameplay, so set whichever moogle and airship you think looks best.

Characters can be obtained by unlocking their associated title in Series Quests. You can also obtain enemy characters by clearing the final stage for each title!

The list of characters includes:

Final Fantasy I

  • Warrior of Light
  • Princess Sarah
  • Garland

Final Fantasy III

  • Onion Knight
  • Cid
  • Cloud of Darkness

Final Fantasy V

  • Bartz
  • Lenna
  • Galuf
  • Faris
  • Krile
  • Gilgamesh
  • Exdeath

Final Fantasy VII

  • Cloud
  • Tifa
  • Aerith
  • Barret
  • Red XIII
  • Yuffie
  • Vincent
  • Sephiroth

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

  • Zack

Crisis Core: Final Fantasy VII

  • Cloud #2
  • Tifa #2

Final Fantasy IX

  • Zidane
  • Vivi
  • Garnet
  • Eiko
  • Kuja

Add Comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!