The New York Videogame Critics Circle (NYVGCC) celebrated the best games, actors, esports athletes and journalists this evening at the 12th annual New York Game Awards. Elden Ring was awarded this year’s Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year and received the Statue of Liberty Award for Best World. Justin Heckert (Vanity Fair) received the prestigious Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism, and Phil Spencer (CEO of Microsoft Gaming) was named as the 2023 Andrew Yoon Legend Award winner.

2023 New York Game Awards Winners:

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year

  • Elden Ring

Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game

  • Vampire Survivors

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing in a Game

  • God of War Ragnarök

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World

  • Elden Ring

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game

  • Metal: Hellsinger

Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game

  • Manon Gage as Marissa Marcel in Immortality

Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game

  • Moss: Book II

Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game

  • Kirby and the Forgotten Land

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game

  • Marvel Snap

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake

  • The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe

Joltin’ Joe Award for Best Esports Player of the Year

  • Masaya “aMSa” Chikamoto (VGBootCamp/Red Bull Esports)

Chumley’s Speakeasy Award for Best Hidden Gem


NYC GWB Award for Best DLC

  • Destiny 2: The Witch Queen

Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism

  • Justin Heckert, Vanity Fair

Elizabeth Jennings Graham Award for Best Educator

  • Ryan O’Callaghan

Andrew Yoon Legend Award Recipient

  • Phil Spencer

Add Comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!