As we mentioned earlier in the week, Game Informer has kicked off a massive wave of coverage for Sonic Superstars, and it’s going to include a bunch of new details on the game. We’ve already learned about the game’s Emerald Powers through this round of coverage, but today gives us a video showcasing each one in action.

Emerald Powers grant Sonic and his friends special abilities for Chaos Emeralds they obtain through the Special Stages. Here’s a complete breakdown of every Emerald Power you’ll have access to.


  • Blue Emerald
  • Create clones of your character and send them speeding across the screen to defeat enemies


  • Red Emerald
  • Blast your character in a specified direction


  • Cyan Emerald
  • Characters can more easily traverse underwater areas and even climb up waterfalls


  • Green Emerald
  • Grow vines from where your character stands to help you reach new areas
  • Can direct where they grow
  • If you’re playing co-op, your teammates can use your ivy to reach new areas


  • Purple Emerald
  • Reveals certain objects like hidden platforms and rings
  • The developers thought about players having a challenging time knowing when to use the power and took it into consideration


  • Yellow Emerald
  • Slows down everything on screen


  • White Emerald
  • This is a character-specific ability
  • Sonic: Homing Attack
  • Amy: Hammer Throw
  • Knuckles: Punch
  • Tails: Tornado Spin


  • Collect all Chaos Emeralds to gain the ability to turn into a Super version of your character
  • Each character can turn Super
  • Each character turns invincible and becomes faster, with rings depleting over time
  • Once you get all seven Chaos Emeralds, you can still choose what power you want to be using
  • You can select from the selection wheel what Emerald Power you want to use at that specific time, not necessarily automatically turning into Supe

Add Comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!