41st Golden Joystick Awards Nominees Revealed

Plenty of Nintendo nods

29 September 2023
by rawmeatcowboy 0

The 41st Golden Joystick Awards Powered by Intel is pleased to reveal the shortlisted games, hardware, developers, performers and publishers in this year’s categories. Voting is open now until Friday, October 20, 2023.

The Golden Joystick Awards Powered by Intel is the world’s longest-running public-voted games awards show, attracting millions of votes every year. Players from all over the world will decide who takes home this year’s awards. Winners will be revealed in a celebration of games in London and live-streamed globally on all major streaming platforms on Friday, November 10, 2023.


100 games, studios and hardware are represented in 17 categories to be voted for by the public. Baldur’s Gate 3 and The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom lead the nominations with four nods each. Plus developers Larian Studios and Nintendo EPD are also shortlisted in Studio of the Year.

Street Fighter 6, Hi-Fi Rush, Dave the Diver and Starfield all receive three nominations.

A number of indie games appear across the board including Viewfinder with two nominations, plus Cosmic Wheel Sisterhood, Cocoon, Dredge, Pizza Tower, Sea of Stars, Golden Idol Mysteries: The Lemurian Vampire and The Spider of Lanka, Bomb Rush Cyberfunk, Deep Rock Galactic and Chants of Sennaar all with a nomination each.

This year’s awards include returning category Best VR Game celebrating a big year for VR with PSVR 2 launching in February this year and Meta Quest 3 coming soon.

The shortlist has been chosen by a panel of expert critics from GamesRadar+, Edge Magazine, PC Gamer, Play Magazine, TechRadar Gaming, FGS and more.

The shortlist and voting for Ultimate Game of the Year, Best Performer and Best Supporting Performer will go live in a separate voting window on Monday, October 23, 2023.

Every voter will receive a free gaming ebook worth up to £9.99 / $9.99.

The nominations are:

Best Audio

  • Stray Gods
  • Hi-Fi Rush
  • Bomb Rush Cyberfunk
  • Starfield
  • The Legend Of Zelda: Tears Of The Kingdom
  • Final Fantasy XVI

Best Storytelling

  • Baldur’s Gate 3
  • The Cosmic Wheel Sisterhood
  • Armored Core VI: Fires Of Rubicon
  • Oxenfree II: Lost Signals
  • PARANORMASIGHT: The Seven Mysteries of Honjo
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

Best Game Community

  • Final Fantasy XIV
  • Warframe
  • Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Deep Rock Galactic
  • Dreams
  • The Legend Of Zelda: Tears Of The Kingdom

Best Game Expansion

  • Power Wash Simulator DLC
  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Necrom
  • The Case of the Golden Idol Mysteries: The Lemurian Vampire and Spider of Lanka
  • Dead Cells: Return to Castlevania
  • A Little to the Left: Cupboards & Drawers

Best Gaming Hardware

  • PlayStation VR2
  • Turtle Beach Stealth Pro Headset
  • Alienware 34 AW3423DWF
  • Nitro Deck
  • ASUS ROG Strix Scope II 96
  • Samsung 990 PRO

Best Indie Game

  • Dave the Diver
  • Pizza Tower
  • Dredge
  • Cocoon
  • Viewfinder
  • Sea of Stars

Best Multiplayer Game

  • Exoprimal
  • Diablo IV
  • Street Fighter 6
  • Remnant II
  • Mortal Kombat 1
  • We Were Here Expeditions: The FriendShip

Best Visual Design

  • Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Starfield
  • Hi-Fi Rush
  • Viewfinder
  • Lies Of P
  • Street Fighter 6

Nintendo Game of the Year

  • Pikmin 4
  • The Legend Of Zelda: Tears Of The Kingdom
  • Fire Emblem Engage
  • Metroid Prime Remastered
  • Octopath Traveller II
  • Fae Farm

PC Game of the Year

  • Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Diablo IV
  • Dave the Diver
  • Tchia
  • System Shock
  • Shadow Gambit: The Cursed Crew

PlayStation Game of the Year

  • Final Fantasy XVI
  • Resident Evil 4
  • Street Fighter 6
  • Humanity
  • Armored Core VI: Fires Of Rubicon
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

Xbox Game of the Year

  • Starfield
  • Chants of Sennaar
  • Hi-Fi Rush
  • Planet of Lana
  • Dead Space
  • Pentiment

Still Playing Award

  • No Man’s Sky
  • Genshin Impact
  • The Sims 4
  • Fortnite
  • Naraka: Bladepoint
  • GTA Online
  • Warframe
  • Valorant
  • Counter-Strike: Global Offensive / Counter-Strike 2
  • Apex Legends
  • Dota 2
  • Call of Duty

Studio of the Year

  • Larian Studios
  • Digital Eclipse
  • Nintendo EPD
  • Mimimi Games
  • Remedy Entertainment
  • CD Projekt Red

Best Game Trailer

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty - Official Cinematic Trailer
  • Alan Wake 2 - The Dark Place Gameplay Trailer
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom - Official Trailer #3
  • Baby Steps Reveal Trailer
  • Mortal Kombat 1 - Official It’s In Our Blood Trailer
  • Dave the Diver - Official Release Month And Accolades Trailer

Most Wanted Game

  • Death Stranding 2
  • Star Wars Outlaws
  • Final Fantasy VII Rebirth
  • Tekken 8
  • Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines 2
  • S.T.A.L.K.E.R. 2: Heart of Chornobyl
  • Hades II
  • Fable
  • Hollow Knight: Silksong
  • Frostpunk 2
  • ARK 2
  • Persona 3 Reload
  • Bulwark: Falconeer Chronicles
  • Suicide Squad: Kill the Justice League
  • Pacific Drive
  • Black Myth: Wukong
  • Banishers: Ghosts of New Eden
  • Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Realms of Ruin

Returning in 2023 Best VR Game

  • C-Smash VRS
  • Horizon Call of the Mountain VR
  • Synapse
  • Vertigo 2 VR
  • F1 23 VR
  • The Light Brigade

Voting opens today and closes at 3pm PT / 6pm ET / 11pm BST on Friday, October 20, 2023.

Additional category winners will be selected by a panel of journalists from brands including gamesradar.com, pcgamer.com, FGS, Edge magazine, Retro Gamer and Play magazine, plus Future’s trusted network of freelance writers. These winners will be revealed on the night.

Breakthrough Award Critics’ Choice Award Lifetime Achievement

Don’t forget Ultimate Game of the Year, Best Performer and Best Supporting Performer have a separate voting window that opens on Monday, October 23 2023 for one week only.

For more information visit Golden Joystick Awards 2023 Powered by Intel or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. #GoldenJoystickAwards

[PR email]

Add Comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!