Scarlet Moon is pleased to announce Prescription for Sleep: Heavenly Avatar, a celebration of jazz and friendship with a tribute to Yuzo Koshiro’s soundtrack to ActRaiser to chill, relax, sleep, and study to. As one of Koshiro’s defining works, the score has been a longtime standout in his expansive catalog. Scarlet Moon was thrilled to collaborate with Koshiro on the album’s track selection and on commentary in the digital booklet available to customers on Bandcamp. The booklet also includes and interview with GENTLE LOVE, recording notes, comics by illustrator Maximo Lorenzo, and more.

Prescription for Sleep: Heavenly Avatar is the 15th album in this Billboard-charting jazz series. GENTLE LOVE is a duo compromised of Metal Gear Solid series composer Norihiko Hibino on saxophone and Etrian Odyssey/PersonaQ performer AYAKI on piano. After many past collaborations between Yuzo Koshiro and Norihiko Hibino, including on the Etrian Odyssey, 7th Dragon, and WANGAN MIDNIGHT series, the two are once again reunited. Fans will enjoy key themes from the original ActRaiser, including the triumphant opening theme, the action-packed first stage “Filmoa,” the serene city-building theme, “Birth of the People,” and yes, even the short “descent” stinger that will prove to be a welcome surprise for listeners in “Advent.” Prescription for Sleep: Heavenly Avatar is now available for pre-order on all digital storefronts and will release on May 17, 2024:

Prescription for Sleep: Heavenly Avatar Pre-Orders on All Storefronts

“I’ve had the privilege of collaborating with Hibino-san for over a decade,” reflects composer Yuzo Koshiro. “What sets Heavenly Avatar apart is its jazz-infused tracklist—a departure from ActRaiser’s original orchestral compositions. I hope you find as much enjoyment in listening to this album as I have.”

“Knowing about Hibino-san and Koshiro-san’s longstanding friendship, and loving Koshiro-san’s music over the years, I wanted to find a way for them to collaborate once more,” adds Scarlet Moon’s Jayson Napolitano. “We’re really pleased to celebrate ten years of the series with this album and hope fans of the series and the game enjoy it!”

While the pre-order page on Bandcamp current features three previews from the album, more will be shared leading up to the May 17, 2024 release date. The full track listing for Prescription for Sleep: Heavenly Avatar is as follows:

  1. Opening
  2. Sky Palace
  3. Advent
  4. Filmoa
  5. Blood Pool ~ Casandora
  6. Autos ~ Temple
  7. Pyramid ~ Marana
  8. North Wall
  9. Birth of the People
  10. Offering
  11. Peaceful World
  12. Music in Heaven (Original)
[Press release]

Add Comment

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!